On the Edge by Allison van Diepen

Author: Allison van Diep18588763en
Genre: Young Adult | Thriller
Release Date: November 25, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Rating: ★★★★
Read: June 11, 2014

.

ARC provided by the Publisher via NetGalley
My thanks to HarperCollins
Add to Shelf

Goodreads-iconSynopsis

Maddie Diaz never should have taken that shortcut through the park. If she hadn’t, she wouldn’t have seen two members of the Reyes gang attacking a homeless man. Now, as the only witness, she knows there’s a target on her back.

But when the Reyes jump her on the street, Maddie is protected by a second gang and their secretive leader, Lobo, who is determined to take down the Reyes himself. Lobo is mysterious and passionate, and Maddie begins to fall for him. But when they live this close to the edge, can their love survive?

My Thoughts

It was such a thrilling and fast-paced book. At first I was a little skeptical because I normally don’t feel comfortable reading books on gang violence, drugs and human trafficking. It was surprising that I ended up liking this book.

Just to be clear, even this book was on topics I mentioned above, it wasn’t too descriptive to the point that it was unbearable, and I was thankful for that. Otherwise I don’t think I could have gone through with this book. There were a little more violent scenes than most young adult books. Then again, this book was focused on more touchy subjects than most. However, I appreciate that the sexual exploitation wasn’t too detailed.

Moreover, I loved how that story progressed. Each scene was very intriguing I couldn’t wait to find out what would happen next. I thought the storyline was absolutely well-developed and everything seemed to move very smoothly. The plot climax was extremely exhilarating, and I was more than satisfied with how the book ended. I’m secretly hoping to reading more about X and Manny.

Besides, I really liked the characters. Maddie was at times a bit naive, but I thought she was very courageous. I didn’t like that she put up with Iz and her craziness, though. Both Ortiz and Manny were also my favorite. I liked Ortiz for being so noble and Manny for his humor. Maddie’s mother was a pretty nice character too, but I’m not sure I support her when she seemed too lenient when her daughter stayed out overnight without telling her clearly where and with whom.

Even though I think the romance in this book was rather sweet, it was a tad far-fetch in my idea. It was a fairy tale-like, whirlwind romance, and I can’t imagine it happens in real life. It was still nice, though.

To sum it all up, it was a well-written book with amazing pace and wonderful ending. I’d recommend it to those who enjoy reading a book that is not too light, yet not too dark.

Leave a Reply

